- Plus Life and Times of carolkmail

Setting Rabid Dogs on KPLC – My Broken Fridge

On a good day, I can be very patient. On an even better day, I can shake hands with an annoying person. I have been experiencing better days, which means I have been shaking hands with KPLC even when they get into the disco fever, switching the power on and off at will. I sometimes think there is a very bored individual manning those switches and the only entertainment he gets (it has to be a he) is playing with different switches. My patience ran out yesterday and I am on seeth mode.

See, there is one gadget in my house that I will not let anyone play around with. You can have my laptop, you can have my fancy phone, even my toaster if you want. But never my fridge. You should also know that milk is the main source of nutrition in my house. That means I horde tons of it, both in the fridge and in the freezer. You cannot throw anything in there without hitting a can of milk.

For the past few days, the on-off KPLC games have reached new heights. And in so doing, my fridge has stopped working. I am not an amused woman. I am never pretty when I am not amused. My frozen milk has thawed. I have yelled at all the right people and in the process I have been assured that my refridgerator is fixable, which will be done in a few days.

Until someone explains to me, like a 2 year old, why KPLC seems to have the problems it has with the constant power supply, I’m still very upset. Mostly because I’m worried that the next gadget to blow might be one that will not be easy to fix.

Meanwhile, I have decreed that the occupants of my house temporarily convert to cats. Everyone will have a glass of milk, 3 times a day, every day till the current supply runs out. That is over and above any teas, chocolates, or coffees that they shall be taking, and if you are unfortunate enough to be Junior, your food comes with extra milk instead of soup. No milk shall go to waste.

Too, give the focused, rabid dogs room should you run into them. They are headed to KPLC offices and you do not want to break said focus.

11 responses

  1. 3CB

    I feel you on the milking woes. For us, the on-off switch means we keep getting stuck in the office lift. Perhaps we should switch to stairs =/

    August 9, 2012 at 7:40 am

    • carolkmail

      Ok, you should first know I am not afraid of small spaces. I however dread enclosed spaces, large or small. I’d have resulted to stairs ages ago! Too, take a hint. Go stairs. :D

      August 13, 2012 at 5:45 pm

  2. Haha lovely post. In my view the least said about KPLC the better. They are a law unto themselves. The blame, imho, lies squarely with the fat-cats who still believe that providing a continuous electricity supply is a priviledge – a favour that we should all be thankful for. How can er run a modern economy without guaranteed power supplies? All those big wigs should have their salos cut whenever we have our power cut – that would teach them! Every cloud has a silver lining – I love milk and would happily play cats – But I hate dogs and will steer well clear – thanks for the warning :-)

    August 9, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    • carolkmail

      Tehehe. Happy to help re: Warning. If you think this disco lights is bad, then you have never heard of them emptying dams to propagate black-outs so they sell generators. That is the epitome of big catedness. smh.

      August 13, 2012 at 5:44 pm

  3. Supposedly you can take a claim to KPLC for reimbursement for damaged equipment.

    August 10, 2012 at 8:07 am

    • carolkmail

      This is the best news I’ve heard in a long time in relation to holding monopolies liable! I’ll definitely find out more.

      August 13, 2012 at 5:42 pm

  4. And if ur junior your meal comes wit an extra glass of milk instead of soup #dead lmao…KPLC’s staff who play disco with the lights should burn in a lake of sulphur

    August 13, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    • carolkmail

      I know! Burn bad people burn! :D

      August 13, 2012 at 5:41 pm

  5. You could have used the milk for bathing too y’know! Let me think of other creative uses for milk in case I ever fall victim!

    August 15, 2012 at 10:51 am

    • carolkmail

      Yezzz! Worked for Cleopatra. Might have done wonders! Too bad I don’t have a basin large enough to fit the whole me in. *dejection*

      August 15, 2012 at 12:34 pm

  6. I totally feel you, girl. I stopped stocking up the fridge in bulk and have developed a special hatred for KPLC…

    August 18, 2012 at 8:55 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers