– Plus Life and Times of carolkmail

The School Term Ends

Two days ago, I was the proud recipient of a young man’s school projects. While I have never seen much of what they do in school, I was greeted with a folder full of paintings and diagrams! That, accompanied with the most exciting report card! It read in part “he is a very courteous boy. He gets along with his friends, and he has settled very well in his new school. He knows how to use his ‘please’ and ‘thank you’. Yes, I know what you are thinking at this point. I really don’t think this the boy got from her. And you are probably right! Just make sure I do not hear you say that because I shall not hesitate to reconstruct your nose. Image to maintain or not. All I am saying is, I have just been reminded of my one true pride. A boy who makes my heart sing.

Yesterday was sports day. I need not tell you how exciting and terrifying the thought of the event was. That was before we got to the school and saw all these expectant parents (yes, you can think of me as a parent) looking around, some even looking way out of their element but trying to wear this almost composed look, silently willing their sons and daughters to do them proud. Well, I was among the ones who was saying “he better make me proud”. And he did! My little boy (I say that with beaming pride and hope he doesn’t get to read this post as he hates being called little) was in one of the races, and needless to say he won. No really, he did!

The most interesting bit about sports day is that the kids are completely clueless and they have no idea why their mummies and daddies are making such a big fuss, and why they had to appear in their school and cause all this commotion and all they are doing is having fun, running around like they always do, only that this time round, it appears more organized and they are wearing colored Jerseys and have been divided into groups! Tell the parents that….. I was sure some blood was going to be shed in the said event, with each parent claiming that their child was better than the next!

The term that was. One term gone. With all the hurdles presented to us, it was an overall success, and I am grateful to God, for giving us this very wonderful experience.

Comedy is: The event is to transfer water from a bucket to a basin. A three year old participant decides he is too thirsty, right in the middle of the event and uses his transfer jug to quench his thirst from the bucket! His mummy almost faints! We all hoped and prayed the water was sanitized. The teachers are still tight lipped about the state of that water. P.S, the above described child has no association with me whatsoever.

13 responses

  1. LOL! This post is interesting. Aren’t kids just the best. I hope the boy *ahem!* who drank from the bucket is still well. Hehe. That was funny. 🙂

    April 4, 2010 at 4:34 am

    • carolkmail

      The boy is well, from what I hear! 😛

      April 4, 2010 at 5:42 pm

  2. They grow up so fast! Glad you had a blast 🙂

    April 7, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    • carolkmail

      Thanks 🙂

      April 8, 2010 at 9:10 am

  3. Reading through this I can feel just how much this lil’ man makes you proud, but he just won a simple race, its not like he won against Hussein Bolt! Having said that, I find it hard to figure out who is luckier; you for having him or him for having you?

    April 10, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    • carolkmail

      Hahaha! Wyne! I promise you, whether he was running against Bolt or against a snail, my heart pounds the same. I think we are both lucky to have each other. 🙂

      April 12, 2010 at 6:50 am

  4. @Wyndago You didnt have to say he wasnt racing against Bolt!! come on! cant a lil boyz win make a mum proud? NB:To the author, you got yaself a new stalker :)

    April 11, 2010 at 6:11 am

    • carolkmail

      Well, well, well, look what the net dragged in! I am entirely excited (you know I don’t care much for grammar) to have you as a stalker! Come to think of it, that sounds so wrong! 😀

      April 12, 2010 at 6:52 am

  5. Being the parent of a little girl myself, I have started attending these sports days thay sure make one proud to be a parent. I can usnderatnd your feelings!

    April 12, 2010 at 3:36 am

    • carolkmail

      Thanks! It always makes me happy to hear another soul going through what I am going through. Nothing like it. Happy belated birthday to your baby girl btw 🙂

      April 12, 2010 at 6:54 am

  6. @Supremegream, my bad!

    April 12, 2010 at 8:16 am

  7. “The most interesting bit about sports day is that the kids are completely clueless and they have no idea why their mummies and daddies are making such a big fuss…” – This conjures images of kids running about uncoordinated with others running to their mums 🙂 Congrats to your little one!

    April 15, 2010 at 2:38 am

    • carolkmail

      That is exactly the picture I am talking about. Oh, the mayhem! Fun! Thank you very much!

      April 15, 2010 at 6:53 am

Leave a Reply

