– Plus Life and Times of carolkmail

The Nairobi Arboretum – Angels Must Reside Here

Being the designer of my destiny and my journeys, I have recently declared myself a local tourist. From what I hear, no self-respecting local tourist can claim to be one, if they have never visited this small piece of heaven. We all know that I am more than self respecting, and I have had the privileged of visiting The Nairobi Arboretum.

Nature has a way of embracing you, and especially if you find plenty of it. The Nairobi Arboretum is overflowing with nature, and from the moment you go through the gates, peace overwhelms you. It’s like being embraced by angels. Being told that it’s ok, to let go. They are here for you. The first time I went through the gates, tears washed over me, and calm I had never known engulfed me. It was like someone just lifted a heavy burden from my heart. A burden I never even knew I was carrying.

What amazed me, and still does, is the fact that while you can tell that this is one place human beings have greatly encroached and left their mark, and I mean literally, including naming trees and building pathways, one thing has clearly not deserted this place. Peace. With it’s vast space, you can never fail to find your tiny piece of heaven. Over time, I have even managed to make friends. Real friends. This one I have named Piper. He has a very curious nature. Kind of reminds me of me.

Since I discovered this slice of heaven, I have become a regular. I am not known to be very generous, but this is one place that I am willing to share with anyone who wants to feel that wonderful calming embrace. Sometimes I go to the Arboretum and just lie on the grass. Look up. Chew on a blade of grass once in a while (they tend to taste nice in here). Remind myself that no matter how harsh life can get, peace surrounds us always.

6 responses

  1. First off, big ups to you girl! I live in Nairobi and have not once, thought of going to the Arboretum, or to KICC for that matter!

    May 15, 2010 at 9:40 am

    • carolkmail

      Thank you! At least you know Arboretum and KICC exist! I talked to some people who had no idea that Arboretum is a park or KICC has some attraction about it! Now all you need is to get yourself there and you shall join my club of the do knows from the don’t knows. 🙂

      May 15, 2010 at 12:11 pm

  2. Chew grass eh?

    Did you ever think to ask “Piper” where he/she does number one and 2? Then again, it probabaly a delicacy in some part of the world (the byproducts of 1 and 2…..not the grass)

    June 30, 2010 at 10:20 am

    • carolkmail

      Ahahaha! Now why would you go out and crash my grass-chewing goat like blissful dream? You are a horrible person! *chewing more grass*

      July 7, 2010 at 4:23 pm

  3. woolie

    I have not been for quite a while though it’s crazy that we drive past most days of the week – After this post I must make a point of visiting. I have been chewing nothing but grass and it never did mr no harm:-)

    May 17, 2012 at 10:15 am

    • carolkmail

      I know, right? It’s currently messy though… The rains have rendered the grass ‘unsittable’. I shall keep surveying and yell your way when it’s nice and dry so you can chew grass in natural surroundings. Never ever doubted you do chewing, just so you know. 😀

      May 17, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Leave a Reply

