Now They Slap Me With New Rules!

Seriously! Nobody ever listens when I speak. Its like I’m gnashing my teeth! I talk, they stare at me, hang on to their hats, and continue with conversation. Like wind just passed through the room! The worst are the teachers in my kid’s school. That lot has absolutely no respect for my tantrums. I need new ways to yell so they can listen.

So this time, he’s graduated to another class. Class Robin. His previous class was Sparrow B. Don’t even ask what happened to Sparrow A. Probably the kids ate the poor bird. Now things are changing too drastically for my liking!

See, I’m one of the dreaded parents who mostly does what she wants, and lets the kid live with the consequences. That’s how my mother did it and how her mother before her did it. Tradition. Yes I know, teenage is coming and he will disown me at every turn. Probably emancipate himself. Then I shall unleash a can of whoop-ass on him. I digress. Here’s what they have hit me with this time round:

Uniforms: What!!? I happen to think he looks quite handsome in home clothes. I have therefore pushed the home clothes agenda for a whole year! Till I went visiting the other day and saw him sticking out like a really sore thumb. Images of him being a beacon and the Mothership (no pun) aiming lasers and yanking him off the playground made me decide it’s probably time he fitted in. That plus they gave me no choice.

Junior & Me. Evidence of Long Legs.

Swimming: I have averagely long legs. Not tall, just long legs. He takes after me. He has been swimming in the paddling pool (look it up) with tiny kids. Yes, I admit, I did the teachers he doesn’t belong to the big kids pool. He does look tiny in my eyes you know… Now the teachers tell me they are having trouble since he tends to displace water when he gets in, and they have to keep refilling the pool. Not to mention having to fold his legs four ways to get a good waist length submerge! To the big Swimming Pool with official swim wear it is.

Full Day: Remember how I became my own boss and I could do stuff I like? Like when I can take a break whenever I want (which mostly involves moving from one seat in the house to the next). See I’m used to having him home at lunch time, then we can run around a spell as part of my break, before he blacks out from sheer exhaustion. Now they say his workload has increased and he has to be in school all day! Sidenote: Do you know they even close one week after other schools? You’d think its University! I’m still in mourning.

You know me and tantrums. I went completely local when they sprang this stuff on me. I think they are used to me by now seeing as the class teacher just rolled her eyes and the head teacher gave me a sit, after I was done protesting and handed me a cup of coffee and continued like I did not even speak! See why I think they no longer take me seriously?

He does seem like he has fun in school (and some education, I hope), so I won’t chew my nails too much. As for the lunch time break, I suppose I can go unhang birds from trees with rocks, kick twigs down the walk-way and terrorize that neighbour sporting a Probox thingie (I know! Who drives such a car!) till the boy gets home.

6 thoughts on “Now They Slap Me With New Rules!

    1. Hahaaaaa There you go again hearing your own things! Wait! That’s an idea… Probox, Tree, hmmmm sounds better every time I think about it! 😀

  1. He he, with that attitude you expect them to take you seriously! Just let him be! Meanwhile I have began a similar journey with my second daughter (just did a post about it), and will be hoping to learn from your mistakes!

    1. What are you talking about??? I have good attitude! I’ll let him be *straight face* But really, the journey is fun. Tons of learning in the process. Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

