– Plus Life and Times of carolkmail

Your Blog, Your Project

I recently had an argument with a friend. No, this time it was a sensible argument (whatever that means). He’s wanted to start a blog for the longest time but never had the time to do it. Suddenly, he was so fired up, he wanted to start 3 (Yes, 3), and of course, he came to me for advise and assistance in starting them. I know his kind of energy. He can do it. Start all 3 if he wanted to. But my argument was he had not even started the first one! He wanted 2 technical blogs and one social oriented blog.

See what most people don’t understand, is that writing is a project. One to be taken seriously, unless you are the kind to hop on to a project and dump it when you get bored. It also requires time, energy and resource planning. Without this, you will produce the shoddiest of materials on a good day, and on any other, you will ignore the blog all together, letting it die a ‘natural death’. It doesn’t matter if you are getting help from someone else, or are banking on the fact that you are an expert in your field. In the end, it will be your project. An expression of your opinion. Of who you are . If you cannot keep up with it, then not only will your readers not have confidence in what you write, but they will abandon reading you all together. In fact, you are better off not starting a blog in the first place. This way, no opinion is formed of you.

I’m not an expert in blogging, but I have done my fair share of writing and guiding one or two people through the process. Take it from me, it is never easy. You will not jot down a schedule or calendar of events and assume that ideas will flow freely. I’m not also saying that you should always have your best work on display, but the least you can do for yourself is present something that you have put your whole heart in. Readers are brilliant, and they will sass out the kind of effort you have put in each post.

So, my friend and I are at a deadlock. Mostly because I shall not get into a project that is doomed to fail long before it starts. Knowing him, he probably will take a chill pill for the next few days, probably see sense in what I’m recommending and grumpily agree to my terms.

12 responses

  1. Magizani

    I agree with you.A blog is a project like any other.It’s something which demands a lot.Most importantly, a passion for writing.I’m happy to hear that you have guided several people in this.To me, you are more than a mentor.

    January 16, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    • carolkmail

      Thank you 🙂 I’m always on a crusade to recruit writers, having seen what brilliant content people have and they don’t realise it.

      January 17, 2011 at 4:49 am

  2. Maintaining a blog is like raising a child. Takes a lot of attention. Of course you can raise three kids, but I doubt you’d wish to have them all born at the same time 🙂

    January 17, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    • carolkmail

      I don’t think I need to add on to this! Perfectly put 🙂

      January 17, 2011 at 1:01 pm

  3. Maybe it is the enthusiasm of youth! Believe it or not, at the beginning I also started 3 blogs for different things I wanted to say – updated them about once in 6 months (as well as managing the one for my organization then) and eventually deleted them! It by reading people like you that I later made some progress so that person better listen to you, you know what you are on about!

    January 19, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    • carolkmail

      Thanks Charles 🙂 With comments on this particular post, he’s beginning to see the error of his ways. Let’s see whether we can tame the said eithusiasm.

      January 20, 2011 at 5:46 am

  4. So people may have formed an opinion of Bomseh now that the posts are irregular? It makes sense though.

    January 28, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    • carolkmail

      Actually, for good bloggers, it starts with questions. Like why is some brilliant blogger like Bomseh falling by the wayside. So why is he?

      January 29, 2011 at 6:28 am

  5. Blogging is an exercise in dedication. But its one world I have no regrets trying out. I’ve met and interacted with like minded people and made a few solid friends in the process.

    January 31, 2011 at 6:31 am

    • carolkmail

      I suppose over and above the blogging exercise, we come across that one or two people who turn out to be more than an inspiration 🙂

      February 5, 2011 at 4:23 pm

  6. And was the enthusiasm tamed (Dont worry about me, your 5 links has brought me back here – and I am curious like that!)

    August 5, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    • carolkmail

      Yeah! Surprisingly, people tend to listen to me once in a while! Shocks me as well 😛

      August 15, 2011 at 9:31 am

Leave a Reply

