Locally Manufactured Reads

Another week gone. Can you believe that? If I wasn’t so productive and feeling proud of myself, I’d be on a whining spree. But it’s been good. I haven’t broken anything (or anyone), so it’s happiness all round.

Today I’m early. 4:00am early. I enjoy mornings to myself. Without the sun. The silent house. Sometimes with a cup of hot water or ginger tea. This is my little piece of heaven. In most cases, when I’m this early, I read. It calms me down. I can’t find anything nice to read. Not in my journals or books anyway. Then I remember. Lately, I’ve been finding superb reads. And what’s brilliant about them? They are locally manufactured! I kinda feel proud about these. They are like little gems lurking about, waiting to be found. I decide to go through this week’s finds one more time. First there was a blue man. I’m ecstatic. No! Christ! I’m not that sadistic (mostly). I’m thinking, wait, is this a bug going round this April? I have come across 2 or 4 of such individuals. But what really makes me smile is how he goes about sorting out his blueness. A call to a customer care rep. and giving the poor girl a hard time. Why hadn’t I ever thought of that? I really am becoming slow!

Another gem is this one encouraging people to date girls who write. I am in the mood for being vain. A little self importance can’t hurt. I pretend to be the girl in the post. I love fantasy, and especially stories or reads that get you engaged in their characters or words. This one has that. I read and smile even harder. This I read about 2.5 times. Yes, it is possible to read something 2.5 times. Time is running out on me, but just as I’m about to wrap the reading thing up, I remember this story about a supposed strange man. She has what it takes to keep me in suspense, this one. It takes a lot considering my fly-like attention span but this particular story has me guessing. It is short, to the point and she has me eating off her post, and gasping for more. Speaking of which, I just remembered I read another suspense filled post and the young man has had me on strings for days! I should go collecting on that one. Probably try some public embarrassment on him. He’d probably kill me, which he is only allowed to do once I’m done reading the second installment on that story.

Ok. It’s 6:30. We wrap the reading up. Time for another cup of ginger tea. Get this show on the road. That was a morning well spent. A bowl of cereal and a final cup of tea (I know! I take tons of tea, don’t I?) and I’m ready to be unleashed to the unsuspecting population.

12 thoughts on “Locally Manufactured Reads

    1. The others impressed me because of the simplicity in which they were done. As always, let me know what you think 🙂

    1. I, being very kind and liking you much, is giving you a chance, hence no mention or public humiliation! Yet… 😉 *drumming fingers*

    1. You know I love you too much to let your literary soul perish. That plus we have grand plans of the porch and pickette fence and other private matters. You are safe 😀

  1. Long ago before Twitter happened, I used to read regular posts by @Milo, @Intelligensia, Ngishili, Sisbigbones, Mamaa, KenyanPundit, Thinker’s Room, Mocha et al.
    Did Twitter kill the blog?

    Today, there are a few blogs like Sue’s Nairobi Nights, Media Madness and Wanjohi wa Kigogoine’s shenanigans that I still follow.

    Like you, I invariably read at 5am every morning, but not the blogs – hizo ni za jioni. My reading however is not to calm me, but the best way I start my day.

    1. I keep telling everyone, twitter is evil, and it can swallow you whole if you allow it. That’s what’s happening to blogs. Most of my 5 am reads are not blogs either. I just happened there this time round. I have a decent library for the morning 😀

Leave a Reply

