– Plus Life and Times of carolkmail

Write!

Yep! Someone had the guts to yell that to me. Exactly what was he yelling that for? Cluing you in. The conversation in short went like this:

Him: I read your blog

Me: *shocked look*

Him: Really, I do! And I love it! I notice you write weekly.

Me: Are you kidding me?! You actually go through that reverberation (actually, I used the word madness) and you love it?

Him: *shocked look*

Me: I try to, but sometimes I hit a wall and weekly doesn’t work so well.

Him: Who would have thought?

Me: What’s that supposed to mean?

Him: I’m a reader. I discovered your blog. I read it and I love it. The you hitting a wall has nothing to do with me. It is not even a viable excuse as far as I’m concerned. You set the pattern. Which pattern, in case you have not noticed, is weekly. I believe most readers will agree with me here. We have no idea what goes through your mind, so WRITE!

Me: I’ll do my best.

Him: That’s what I want to hear!

The Nerve, right? Seriously, have you ever seen me cowering? Never ever! Most people I tell that I can’t write because I can’t think of a good enough topic tell me it’s a block and it will pass. Give yourself time they say. You are being too harsh on yourself. Relax. Then this one person does not care what wall I have hit, blank or not, he just says write! That took me by surprise. No smart comebacks. I felt like I was having a Nike ‘Just Do It’ moment. Not a good feeling. Good thing I like him so I’ll let it slide.

But it got me thinking. Yeah, just write. Whatever it is. Rumble on. In the middle of the rumblings, something will come up. So I’ll just gather paper and pen and start rumbling. See what comes out of it.

Catch you up when I’m done scribbling. 😀

14 responses

  1. I also dont care about that writer’s block…all I want is my weekly dossage of a post, so you better get writing “nyako”!

    May 4, 2011 at 8:04 am

    • carolkmail

      Eh! You guy! Pressure much? Wait, are you on a revenge mission or something??? Speaking of which, YOU OWE ME! 😀

      May 4, 2011 at 8:36 am

      • Should have kept my mouth shut!! Err, will see if I can send something your way soon!

        May 4, 2011 at 9:22 am

      • carolkmail

        Hehe. Yes. Lesson of the day children? Most threats work both ways 😉 Take your time 🙂

        May 4, 2011 at 11:46 am

  2. SupremeGREAM

    Keep going. #NoPressure 🙂

    May 4, 2011 at 11:44 am

    • carolkmail

      Haiya! What’s wrong with all you lot? I demand a full refund! A swap with more #NonPressure readers! I can do that, right? 😀 Will do my best 🙂

      May 4, 2011 at 11:51 am

  3. WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! WRITE!

    No pressure.

    May 4, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    • carolkmail

      Oy! Nkt! Speaking of which….. HOUND!

      May 4, 2011 at 12:36 pm

  4. Comment… 🙂

    May 5, 2011 at 11:41 am

    • carolkmail

      😉

      May 5, 2011 at 4:27 pm

  5. Child, we’ve talked about this before. Block? What block?

    Open a blank word document and stare at the cursor – this is actually mirth inducing.

    Ask google how to overcome block and expect a lecture like this:

    Start with a need – like to satisfy your readers for example?

    Change your blogging environment – beach some?

    Keep an idea journal – yaaaaaaawn!

    Read what other bloggers are saying – eish. They can write. I can’t.

    Flip an idea. Huh?

    Just write
    Just *$@#%?! I can’t write remember?

    haha. I also did the whole writing nothing thing once. http://tinyurl.com/5tsrbnv

    May 6, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    • carolkmail

      Hahaha! You my dear, have captured it like no one ever could! Yes, and had me on the floor for a while. I’m sure the source of my harrasment will definitely see that link! 😀

      May 7, 2011 at 4:02 pm

  6. I say, Scribble away mi heartie…a wiseman (Terry Prachett) once said something like ‘writing is the most fun one can have by themselves’ key words being: ‘most fun’

    May 10, 2011 at 9:29 am

    • carolkmail

      Aaaah… Terry Pratchett. Man after my own heart! And we shall continue scribbling! 😀

      May 10, 2011 at 10:04 am

Leave a Reply

