– Plus Life and Times of carolkmail

We Dropped A Tooth

Technically, Junior did. You know how when a woman gets pregnant and the husband goes fist bumping all his pals, yelling ‘We Are Pregnant!!!’ while singing circumcision songs and dropping drinks? Yes, well, that’s how the WE in ‘We Dropped a Tooth’ is used here.

Insider Information: When you bear offspring, you are always worried that you’ll never know when anything goes wrong, or right, for that matter. How will you know when his tummy is aching? Or his diaper is wet (not as obvious as you may think by the way)? Or when he swallows a roach? Or a coin? Or when his teeth start wobbling? Will you know in good time or will he swallow it in his sleep? I tell you, mummyhood can be a nightmare sometimes. Forget the cooing and all that. That’s the cute stuff. There is that other side that no one tells you! Thank God you have me. To tell you that is.

So anyway, we tend to get bored sometimes…, Junior and I. In the throes of boredom, we’ll clip our nails, I’ll rub his back or, we’ll count each other’s teeth. It’s fun! I can then use the line of ‘see how many teeth I have? You need to eat a lot of food to get as many teeth as mummy!’ Yep! The magic of a mouth full of pearly whites. Anyway, so this teeth counting day last week, we (I) discovered a wobbly one. I did go through all the appropriate reactions. Excitement! Panicking. Dry mouth. Sore throat. Singing a happy song. Hyperventilating… And you are wondering, where is he during all this? He’s not allowed to be in the bathroom with me. Which is where I was. After calming down, it was time to find out how to go about yanking the wobbly white.

Kid was pretty excited when I pointed it out. Mostly because he had been told by someone that once his teeth come out, he would automatically turn 6. I know! The information that gets passed down to children these days! He couldn’t stop playing with it. You know, shaking it and all to confirm and reconfirm that it was really wobbly.

In my infinite search, I came across a lot of ‘helpful’ information. Observe:

Seriously, you don’t think I got this advice? Fiiine. Don’t believe me. Check out this link of ‘wisdom’ then!

I was so busy looking for ways to get it out I didn’t at first notice him holding something in his hands, the bleeding mouth and his shocked expression. He doesn’t like the sight of blood, not even a hint of it so a mouth dripping with blood made him panicky, even weepy. But there it was. He had accidentally pulled it! Then there was me running around, looking for cotton wool and salt water to clean his mouth out and to check whether he got the whole damn thing out. He had done a good accidental job, believe it or not. I even baked him a cake.

Drama aside, I am very happy with how the first dropped tooth experience went. No dentist, him doing it by himself (albeit accidentally) and the celebration that went with. We even got to learn. Something. Least of all, the simplest solutions work best. Plus I am loving his minus one tooth smile! 😉

11 responses

  1. Lol @ your starting para. He’s growing wiser…

    December 18, 2011 at 11:16 am

    • See, now I’m worried about the ‘Growing Wiser’ bit. *sulks*

      December 20, 2011 at 9:12 am

  2. Hehehe…Get yourself a pliers..It is more easier to pull them out using it 😉

    December 19, 2011 at 8:14 am

    • Do you know that is what our uncle used to use to pull our teeth out??? The horror! Yet here we are…! So you laugh all you want. I might just default to medieval times! 😀

      December 20, 2011 at 9:13 am

      • So @carolkmail Have we dropped more teeth in this “new” year?

        April 10, 2012 at 2:15 pm

      • carolkmail

        Funny that you ask @GhaflaKenya 😉 Do you know I’ve been swinging with one for the last 2 weeks? The little inconvincence just won’t come out! He might have to swallow that one in his sleep one of these days! 🙂 And what’s with the quotes on “new” 😛

        April 10, 2012 at 2:26 pm

  3. He’s growing fast! Did you finally grant him his space? That space that you stole from him?

    December 20, 2011 at 8:24 am

    • Space? What space? Sure! I will…. Soon as he contributes his part of the rent. 😛 Ok fine! We are still fighting over real estate in MY house 😀

      December 20, 2011 at 9:13 am

  4. Mad woman

    ah? Cant wait for my turn….love the post

    December 21, 2011 at 7:19 pm

  5. I freaked out the first time I was asked to pull out my daughters’ wobbly tooth, I was actually more scared of the ordeal than she was!

    January 3, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    • carolkmail

      I can imagine! It feels so unnatural, especially since it’s your child! 🙂

      January 3, 2012 at 5:21 pm

Leave a Reply

