Homemade – Toothpaste

teeth-brushing

Staying healthy has become one of the few things that we are and should be obsessing about. With the increase of all these ‘not-cool’ chemicals in everything we consume, it behooves us to consider using readily available, non-toxic ingredients to create some of the most frequently used products in our homes. For example, soaps, oils, toothpastes and even home remedies for common illnesses!

I, of course, have not been left behind in this journey to wellness. As often as I can, I will try to update you with the latest homemades that my people (read guinea pigs) have had to test out to perfection. To start us off, toothpaste!

At the core of my recipes, essential oils. I have always loved essential oils but now I am putting them to good use. So why toothpaste?

When we were young, we (ok perhaps only me) were very fond of swallowing toothpaste. I get the feeling that the toothpaste that we have these days would not go down (pun intended) well! So here’s my new recipe for toothpaste.

Please note, I am the queen of simplicity, so whatever I put through is in it’s simplest form.

Toothpaste Recipe

2 Tbs Coconut Oil
2 Tbs Baking Soda
2 Tbs filtered water
1/2 tsp sea salt
12 drops peppermint essential oil
Mix all ingredients and put in a container. You can use a small spoon or just scrape off a small amount from the container. Or even your clean finger!
Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Homemade – Toothpaste

    1. That’s the beauty of it! All natural ingredients means that the small bits that get swallowed when we are brushing are not harmful. Don’t make a habit of it though 😀

Leave a comment